danaxperformance.blogg.se

Imsai 8080 emulator mac
Imsai 8080 emulator mac









imsai 8080 emulator mac
  1. IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC SERIAL
  2. IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC ARCHIVE
  3. IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC FULL
  4. IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC PC

IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC PC

I now have a working PC Altair emulator running CP/M on Windows 10. Most important is to get hardware working first. Since I have several goals, I have been using several platforms in parallel to move forward. Therefore, I wanted to restore some of these systems and refresh my memory on 8 bit assembly coding and CP/M and possibly use some of the same techniques on the LSI-2 systems. It may even mean creating a simple LSI-2 assembler to run on MSDOS. That means coding on DOS and LSI-2 in assembly.

IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC ARCHIVE

I do not have original media (paper tape or disks) so everything has to be bootstrapped from scratch, including PC based software loaders from archive formats. I have had some difficulty getting software loaded into the LSI-2 and running, even though the hardware seems to work in tests so far. Plus the ability to develop on a modern PC and then test on the target platform easily. The big advantage is the wide array of emulators and disk based tools for CP/M, as well as assemblers and debuggers. I felt working on 8 bit CP/M systems could help my restoration of the LSI-2 system(s).

IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC FULL

However, I have had a number of obstacles as mentioned below and I was getting frustrated with the slow progress - given my limited time as I still have a full time job. My original project was to restore the LSI-2 system(s) - both hardware and software - to running state. Many support 2 or more OS’s or runtime environments.

imsai 8080 emulator mac

They were all designed and built between 19 (except the SBCs and ESP-32).ĥ. The Heath/Zenith also has an added 8086 CPU. Almost all are based on the Z80/8080 CPU (except Apple & Commodore with the 6502, but both have Z80 options for CP/M).

IMSAI 8080 EMULATOR MAC SERIAL

All support RS-232 serial IO – The Commodores and Apples have video screen graphics and keyboards built in – as does the Heath/Zenith, but they can do serial IO.ģ. Plus of course my original 3 Computer Automation Alpha LSI-2/20’s.Ī few commonalities across all (or most) of these systems (except for the LSI-2’s ) –Ģ. And lets not forget the IMSAI-8080 ESP-32 based simulator from Australia (which runs CP/M!). I also have been building some more recent Z80 based single board computers, including the RC2014. Plus a number of Apple ][, Commodore 64, and Commodore 128 systems. Several floppy subsystems (5.25″ and 8″), disk controllers, memory, I/O boards. I have collected quite a few systems and boards – 3 IMSAI-8080, 2 IMSAI/Fulcrum, Z2-Cromemco, 2 Heath/Zenith H100 series, 2 Northstar Horizon. Also shown is a Pascal MicroEngine, providing a different take on microcomputing inspired by Wirth's work.įurthermore we hope to be able to demonstrate a Ceres-3, a Lilith follow-up machine running Oberon.Įmulith, the Lilith emulator, is available for hands-on experience on running a Lilith system.Over the past 2-3 weeks I have been unpacking and sorting the computers, S-100 parts and systems I recently moved to my new home in West Los Angeles. This is a single user workstation, specifically made to efficiently execute the Modula-2 language, also developed bu Wirth.Later on, Wirth’s Oberon system continued where the Lilith left off. Theīolo Museum is proud to be able exhibit the most noteworthy Smaky models for this edition of the VCFe.CH.Īround the same time, Niklaus Wirth, Switzerland’s most famous contributor to computing, and his ETH team are developing the revolutionary Lilith computer. It was marketed by the Epsitec company from 1978 onwards. It was technically well in advance of its time and, equipped with a lot of teaching software in French, wasĪ serious competitor to the Apple Macintosh in Swiss French-speaking schools. A product of LAMI, the EPFL’s micro-computing laboratory, the Smaky computer was developed in the mid-1970s and was the brainchild of











Imsai 8080 emulator mac